Looking for a specific product?

Make a search for products & suppliers, articles & news.

Five Norwegian ambassies will be closed

Norway will close five of its embassies abroad. This is one of the major news items from the proposed national budget which was presented Tuesday morning.

The embassies which will be closed are those in the Ivory Coast, Colombia, East Timor, Slovenia and Nicaragua, according to the newspaper. Norwegian interests in these countries will be taken care of by other missions in the regions concerned.

- We are seeing a shift in economic and political power towards the south and the east, and especially towards Asia, whhicch is gaining a more prominent role. This is having consequences for Norwegian interests, Foreign Minister Jonas Gahr Støre says.

In the case of West Africa, the possibility of establishing a new mission in Accra (Ghana) is being considered.